Skip to main page content
Access keys NCBI Homepage MyNCBI Homepage Main Content Main Navigation
, 259 (3), 555-64

Protein Kinase C Delta


Protein Kinase C Delta

M Gschwendt. Eur J Biochem.


The protein kinase C (PKC) family consists of 11 isoenzymes that, due to structural and enzymatic differences, can be subdivided into three groups: The Ca(2+)-dependent, diacylglycerol (DAG)-activated cPKCs (conventional PKCs: alpha, beta 1, beta 2, gamma); the Ca(2+)-independent, DAG-activated nPKCs (novel PKCs: delta, epsilon, eta, theta, mu), and the Ca(2+)-dependent, DAG non-responsive aPKCs (atypical PKCs: zeta, lambda/iota). PKC mu is a novel PKC, but with some special structural and enzymatic properties.

Similar articles

See all similar articles

Cited by 42 articles

See all "Cited by" articles

Publication types

LinkOut - more resources