Protein kinase C delta

Eur J Biochem. 1999 Feb;259(3):555-64. doi: 10.1046/j.1432-1327.1999.00120.x.


The protein kinase C (PKC) family consists of 11 isoenzymes that, due to structural and enzymatic differences, can be subdivided into three groups: The Ca(2+)-dependent, diacylglycerol (DAG)-activated cPKCs (conventional PKCs: alpha, beta 1, beta 2, gamma); the Ca(2+)-independent, DAG-activated nPKCs (novel PKCs: delta, epsilon, eta, theta, mu), and the Ca(2+)-dependent, DAG non-responsive aPKCs (atypical PKCs: zeta, lambda/iota). PKC mu is a novel PKC, but with some special structural and enzymatic properties.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Animals
  • Binding Sites
  • Enzyme Activation
  • Isoenzymes / chemistry*
  • Phosphorylation
  • Protein Kinase C / chemistry*
  • Protein Kinase C-delta
  • Substrate Specificity


  • Isoenzymes
  • Protein Kinase C
  • Protein Kinase C-delta