Endoscopic cordectomy. A proposal for a classification by the Working Committee, European Laryngological Society

Eur Arch Otorhinolaryngol. 2000;257(4):227-31. doi: 10.1007/s004050050228.


The European Laryngological Society is proposing a classification of different laryngeal endoscopic cordectomies in order to ensure better definitions of post-operative results. We chose to keep the word "cordectomy" even for partial resections because it is the term most often used in the surgical literature. The classification comprises eight types of cordectomies: a subepithelial cordectomy (type I), which is resection of the epithelium; a subligamental cordectomy (type II), which is a resection of the epithelium, Reinke's space and vocal ligament; transmuscular cordectomy (type III), which proceeds through the vocalis muscle; total cordectomy (type IV); extended cordectomy, which encompasses the contralateral vocal fold and the anterior commissure (type Va); extended cordectomy, which includes the arytenoid (type Vb); extended cordectomy, which encompasses the subglottis (type Vc); and extended cordectomy, which includes the ventricle (type Vd). Indications for performing those cordectomies may vary from surgeon to surgeon. The operations are classified according to the surgical approach used and the degree of resection in order to facilitate use of the classification in daily practice. Each surgical procedure ensures that a specimen is available for histopathological examination.

MeSH terms

  • Glottis / surgery
  • Humans
  • Laryngeal Neoplasms / surgery
  • Laryngectomy / classification
  • Laryngectomy / methods*
  • Laryngoscopy / classification
  • Laryngoscopy / methods*
  • Otolaryngology*
  • Vocal Cords / surgery*