NatC Nalpha-terminal acetyltransferase of yeast contains three subunits, Mak3p, Mak10p, and Mak31p

J Biol Chem. 2001 Jun 8;276(23):20154-9. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M011440200. Epub 2001 Mar 27.


The yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae contains three types of N(alpha)-terminal acetyltransferases, NatA, NatB, and NatC, with each having a different catalytic subunit, Ard1p, Nat3p, and Mak3p, respectively, and each acetylating different sets of proteins with different N(alpha)-terminal regions. We show that the NatC N(alpha)-terminal acetyltransferases contains Mak10p and Mak31p subunits, in addition to Mak3p, and that all three subunits are associated with each other to form the active complex. Genetic deletion of any one of the three subunits results in identical abnormal phenotypes, including the lack of acetylation of a NatC substrate in vivo, diminished growth at 37 degrees C on media containing nonfermentable carbon sources, and the lack of maintenance or assembly of the L-A dsRNA viral particle.

Publication types

  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.

MeSH terms

  • Amino Acid Sequence
  • Arylamine N-Acetyltransferase / chemistry
  • Arylamine N-Acetyltransferase / metabolism*
  • Base Sequence
  • DNA, Fungal
  • Molecular Sequence Data
  • Mutagenesis
  • Phenotype
  • Saccharomyces cerevisiae / enzymology*
  • Sequence Deletion
  • Sequence Homology, Amino Acid


  • DNA, Fungal
  • Arylamine N-Acetyltransferase