Pioneers in Psychopharmacology II

Int J Neuropsychopharmacol. 2000 Dec;3(4):351-354. doi: 10.1017/S1461145700002157.


In 1998, the first Pioneers in Psychopharmacology Awards were presented at the XXIst CINP Meeting in Glasgow to Pierre Deniker, Joel Elkes and Heinz Lehmann. These three individuals had distinguished themselves and Psychopharmacology not only by the quality of their work but also by their ability to persuade others of the importance of the new field that was opening up (Healy, 1998). At the XXIInd CINP Meeting in Brussels in July 2000, Paul Janssen, Mogens Schou and Alec Coppen became the second group to receive such awards for distinguished achievement.