Isolation and characterization of a veratrol:corrinoid protein methyl transferase from Acetobacterium dehalogenans

Arch Microbiol. 2001 May;175(5):376-83. doi: 10.1007/s002030100275.


From 3-methoxyphenol-grown cells of Acetobacterium dehalogenans, an inducible enzyme was purified that mediated the transfer of the methyl groups of veratrol (1,2-dimethoxybenzene) to a corrinoid protein enriched from the same cells. In this reaction, veratrol was converted via 2-methoxyphenol to 1,2-dihydroxybenzene. The veratrol:corrinoid protein methyl transferase, designated MTIver, had an apparent molecular mass of about 32 kDa. With respect to the N-terminal amino acid sequence and other characteristics, MTIver is different from the vanillate:corrinoid protein methyl transferase (MTIvan) isolated earlier from the same bacterium. For the methyl transfer from veratrol to tetrahydrofolate, two additional protein fractions were required, one of which contained a corrinoid protein. This protein was not identical with the corrinoid protein of the vanillate O-demethylase system. However, the latter corrinoid protein could also serve as methyl acceptor for the veratrol:corrinoid protein methyl transferase. MTIver catalyzed the demethylation of veratrol, 3,4-dimethoxybenzoate, 2-methoxyphenol, and 3-methoxyphenol. Vanillate (3-methoxy-4-hydroxybenzoate), 2-methoxybenzoate, or 4-methoxybenzoate could not serve as substrates.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't

MeSH terms

  • Acetobacter / enzymology*
  • Amino Acid Sequence
  • Anisoles / metabolism*
  • Enzyme Induction
  • Methylation
  • Methyltransferases / chemistry
  • Methyltransferases / isolation & purification*
  • Methyltransferases / metabolism*
  • Molecular Sequence Data
  • Oxidoreductases, O-Demethylating / isolation & purification
  • Oxidoreductases, O-Demethylating / metabolism
  • Substrate Specificity
  • Vanillic Acid / metabolism


  • Anisoles
  • veratrole
  • Oxidoreductases, O-Demethylating
  • Methyltransferases
  • Vanillic Acid
  • 3-hydroxyanisole