A phylogenetic definition of the major eubacterial taxa

Syst Appl Microbiol. 1985;6:143-51. doi: 10.1016/s0723-2020(85)80047-3.


Through oligonucleotide signature analysis of 16S ribosomal RNAs, it is possible to define ten major groups of eubacteria. These are: (1) the Gram positive bacteria, (2) the purple photosynthetic bacteria and their relatives, (3) the spirochetes and their relatives, (4) the sulfur-dependent eubacteria and their relatives, (5) the bacteroides, flavobacteria and cytophagas and their relatives, (6) the cyanobacteria, (7) the green sulfur bacteria, (8) the green non-sulfur bacteria and their relatives, (9) the radio-resistant micrococci, and (10) the planctomyces and their relatives. Although no consensus exists as regards the taconomic terminology, these ten groupings are appropriately termed eubacterial Phyla or Divisions. The major subdivisions of those Phyla or Divisions that have been extensively characterized can also be defined by characteristic oligonucleotide signatures.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, Non-P.H.S.

MeSH terms

  • Bacteria / classification*
  • Bacteria / genetics
  • Base Sequence
  • Databases, Factual
  • Molecular Sequence Data
  • Oligonucleotides / chemistry
  • Oligonucleotides / classification
  • Oligonucleotides / genetics
  • Phylogeny*
  • RNA, Bacterial
  • RNA, Ribosomal, 16S / classification*
  • RNA, Ribosomal, 16S / genetics
  • Sequence Homology, Nucleic Acid*


  • Oligonucleotides
  • RNA, Bacterial
  • RNA, Ribosomal, 16S