Conserved, extended MHC haplotypes

Exp Clin Immunogenet. 1992;9(2):58-71.


Extended major histocompatibility complex (MHC) haplotypes are fixed conserved regions of the short arm of the sixth human chromosome defined by their HLA-B, complotype (BF, C2, C4A, C4B), HLA-DR alleles. The regions of conservation may extend further. At least a third of normal MHC haplotypes in Caucasians are extended, and they are largely responsible for previously observed linkage disequilibrium in the region. They are relatively population-specific. Their presence has major implications for tissue transplantation, and particularly for the identification of unrelated donor-recipient pairs, since matching for extended haplotypes probably optimizes engraftment in individuals who have them. Even for those who do not, extended haplotypes provide the means for identifying likely MLR-I-negative donor-recipients, and for identifying the genes involved in this function. Extended haplotypes provide most of the markers for HLA-associated autoimmune diseases; like the MHCs of inbred and inbred recombinant strains of mice, they have aided in the analysis of the contribution of specific genes in this region to disease susceptibility and immune functions, particularly the antibody response. Finally, extended haplotypes must be taken into account when considering population genetic questions and when using HLA markers to identify individuals in forensic applications.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.
  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Asthma / immunology
  • Chromosome Mapping
  • Chromosomes, Human, Pair 6
  • Diabetes Mellitus, Type 1 / immunology
  • Genetic Linkage
  • Haplotypes / genetics*
  • Humans
  • Major Histocompatibility Complex / genetics*
  • Major Histocompatibility Complex / immunology
  • Pemphigus / immunology
  • Rhinitis / immunology
  • Transplantation, Homologous / immunology