Constituents from the bark of Tabebuia impetiginosa

Phytochemistry. 2004 Jul;65(13):2003-11. doi: 10.1016/j.phytochem.2004.06.012.


The bark of Tabebuia impetiginosa afforded nineteen glycosides, consisting of four iridoid glycosides, two lignan glycosides, two isocoumarin glycosides, three phenylethanoid glycosides and eight phenolic glycosides. Their structures were determined using both spectroscopic and chemical methods. Iridoid glycosides, phenylethanoid glycosides and lignan glycosides had ajugol, osmanthuside H and secoisolariciresinol 4-O-beta-D-glucopyranoside as their structural elements, respectively, whereas the aglycone moieties of the isocoumarin glycosides were considered to be (-)-6-hydroxymellein. Phenolic glycosides had 4-methoxyphenol, 2,4-dimethoxyphenol, 3,4-dimethoxyphenol, 3,4,5-trimethoxyphenol and vanillyl 4-hydroxybenzoate as each aglycone moiety. Additionally, the sugar chains of these isocoumarin glycosides and phenolic glycosides were concluded to be beta-D-apiofuranosyl-(1-->6)-beta-D-glucopyranoside as well as those of osmanthuside H and above phenylethanoid glycosides.

MeSH terms

  • Circular Dichroism
  • Glycosides / chemistry
  • Glycosides / isolation & purification*
  • Hydrolysis
  • Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy
  • Molecular Structure
  • Plant Bark / chemistry*
  • Tabebuia / chemistry*


  • Glycosides