[Women in Natural sciences--Nobel Prize Winners]

Acta Med Croatica. 2006;60(1):1-5.
[Article in Croatian]


Alfred Bernhard Nobel was the founder of the Nobel Foundation, which has been awarding world-known scientists since 1901, for their contribution to the welfare of mankind. The life and accomplishments of Alfred Bernhard Nobel are described as well as scientific achivements of 11 women, Nobel prize winners in the field of physics, chemistry, physiology and/or medicine. They are Marie Sklodowska Curie, Maria Goeppert Mayer, Irene Joliot-Curie, Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, Gerty Theresa Radnitz Cori, Rosalyn Sussman Yalow, Barbara McClintock, Rita Levi-Montalcini, Gertrude Elion, Christine Nusslein-Volhard and Linda B. Buck.

Publication types

  • English Abstract
  • Historical Article

MeSH terms

  • Female
  • History, 19th Century
  • History, 20th Century
  • History, 21st Century
  • Humans
  • Nobel Prize*
  • Women / history*