The Rpd3/Hda1 family of lysine deacetylases: from bacteria and yeast to mice and men

Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol. 2008 Mar;9(3):206-18. doi: 10.1038/nrm2346.


Protein lysine deacetylases have a pivotal role in numerous biological processes and can be divided into the Rpd3/Hda1 and sirtuin families, each having members in diverse organisms including prokaryotes. In vertebrates, the Rpd3/Hda1 family contains 11 members, traditionally referred to as histone deacetylases (HDAC) 1-11, which are further grouped into classes I, II and IV. Whereas most class I HDACs are subunits of multiprotein nuclear complexes that are crucial for transcriptional repression and epigenetic landscaping, class II members regulate cytoplasmic processes or function as signal transducers that shuttle between the cytoplasm and the nucleus. Little is known about class IV HDAC11, although its evolutionary conservation implies a fundamental role in various organisms.

Publication types

  • Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural
  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Animals
  • Bacteria / enzymology*
  • Cytoplasm / enzymology
  • Disease
  • Histone Deacetylases / chemistry
  • Histone Deacetylases / classification
  • Histone Deacetylases / metabolism*
  • Humans
  • Mice
  • Signal Transduction
  • Yeasts / enzymology*


  • Histone Deacetylases