Skip to main page content
Access keys NCBI Homepage MyNCBI Homepage Main Content Main Navigation
, 59, 167-89

Algal Sensory Photoreceptors


Algal Sensory Photoreceptors

Peter Hegemann. Annu Rev Plant Biol.


Only five major types of sensory photoreceptors (BLUF-proteins, cryptochromes, phototropins, phytochromes, and rhodopsins) are used in nature to regulate developmental processes, photosynthesis, photoorientation, and control of the circadian clock. Sensory photoreceptors of algae and protists are exceptionally rich in structure and function; light-gated ion channels and photoactivated adenylate cyclases are unique examples. During the past ten years major progress has been made with respect to understanding the function, photochemistry, and structure of key sensory players of the algal kingdom.

Similar articles

See all similar articles

Cited by 60 PubMed Central articles

See all "Cited by" articles

Publication types

LinkOut - more resources