Species and Type Phages of Lactococcal Bacteriophages

Intervirology. 1991;32(1):2-9. doi: 10.1159/000150179.


Lactococcal phages are classified according to morphology and DNA homology. Phages are differentiated into 12 phage species, and type phages of each species are proposed. Members and possible members of each species are named. Available data on type phages are tabulated including morphology, DNA characteristics and phage protein bands.

Publication types

  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Bacteriophages / classification*
  • Bacteriophages / ultrastructure
  • DNA, Viral / genetics
  • Lactococcus lactis
  • Sequence Homology, Nucleic Acid
  • Streptococcus
  • Terminology as Topic


  • DNA, Viral