Health information technology: initial set of standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for electronic health record technology. Final rule

Fed Regist. 2010 Jul 28;75(144):44589-654.


The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is issuing this final rule to complete the adoption of an initial set of standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria, and to more closely align such standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria with final meaningful use Stage 1 objectives and measures. Adopted certification criteria establish the required capabilities and specify the related standards and implementation specifications that certified electronic health record (EHR) technology will need to include to, at a minimum, support the achievement of meaningful use Stage 1 by eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and/or critical access hospitals (hereafter, references to "eligible hospitals" in this final rule shall mean "eligible hospitals and/or critical access hospitals") under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs. Complete EHRs and EHR Modules will be tested and certified according to adopted certification criteria to ensure that they have properly implemented adopted standards and implementation specifications and otherwise comply with the adopted certification criteria.

MeSH terms

  • American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
  • Certification
  • Electronic Health Records / legislation & jurisprudence
  • Electronic Health Records / standards*
  • Electronic Health Records / statistics & numerical data
  • Health Care Reform / legislation & jurisprudence*
  • Humans
  • Medicaid / legislation & jurisprudence
  • Medicare / legislation & jurisprudence
  • Reimbursement, Incentive / legislation & jurisprudence
  • Reimbursement, Incentive / standards
  • United States