Fibromyalgia diagnosis and diagnostic criteria

Ann Med. 2011 Nov;43(7):495-502. doi: 10.3109/07853890.2011.595734. Epub 2011 Jul 19.


Abstract Criteria for fibromyalgia developed from the conceptualization and hypotheses of Smythe and Moldofsky in 1977 and gradually evolved to a set of classification criteria endorsed by the American College of Rheumatology that emphasized tender points and widespread pain, measures of decreased pain threshold. In 2010, American College of Rheumatology fibromyalgia diagnostic criteria were published that abandoned the tender point count and placed increased emphasis of patient symptoms. The 2010 criteria also contained severity scales and offered physicians the opportunity to assess polysymptomatic distress on a continuous scale. This enabled physicians who were opposed to the idea of fibromyalgia to also assess and diagnose patients using an alternative nomenclature.

Publication types

  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Fibromyalgia / classification
  • Fibromyalgia / diagnosis*
  • Fibromyalgia / physiopathology
  • Humans
  • Pain / diagnosis*
  • Pain / etiology
  • Pain Measurement / methods
  • Pain Threshold*
  • Severity of Illness Index
  • Societies, Medical
  • United States