The American College of Rheumatology 1990 criteria for the classification of vasculitis. Patients and methods

Arthritis Rheum. 1990 Aug;33(8):1068-73. doi: 10.1002/art.1780330803.


The American College of Rheumatology Subcommittee on Classification of Vasculitis of the Diagnostic and Therapeutic Criteria Committee developed classification criteria for 7 forms of vasculitis: polyarteritis nodosa, Churg-Strauss syndrome, Wegener's granulomatosis, hypersensitivity vasculitis, Henoch-Schönlein purpura, giant cell (temporal) arteritis, and Takayasu arteritis. The data collection methods, quality control, and analytic procedures used to derive the classification rules are discussed herein.

Publication types

  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.

MeSH terms

  • Data Collection
  • Humans
  • Quality Control
  • Rheumatology* / methods
  • Rheumatology* / trends
  • Sensitivity and Specificity
  • Societies, Medical*
  • Software
  • Vasculitis / classification*
  • Vasculitis / diagnosis