Extended donors in liver transplantation

Clin Liver Dis. 2011 Nov;15(4):879-900. doi: 10.1016/j.cld.2011.08.006. Epub 2011 Oct 1.


Several criteria are used to differentiate between standard and extended allograft donors. These criteria include deceased after cardiac death, advanced donor age, steatosis, previous malignancy in the donor, hepatitis C virus-positive allografts, human T-cell lymphotropic virus-positive allografts, active infections in the donor, high-risk donors, split liver transplantations, and living donor liver transplantations. Review of the literature can lead each practitioner to incorporate extended criteria donors into their transplant program, thereby individualizing the use of these allografts, increasing the donor pool, and decreasing overall waitlist mortality.

Publication types

  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Deltaretrovirus Infections / transmission
  • Fatty Liver / complications
  • Fatty Liver / epidemiology
  • Female
  • Graft Survival
  • Hepatitis C / transmission
  • Humans
  • Incidence
  • Liver Transplantation / methods*
  • Living Donors / ethics
  • Living Donors / statistics & numerical data
  • Male
  • Patient Selection*
  • Prevalence
  • Tissue Donors*
  • Waiting Lists / mortality