The development of the emergency medicine milestones

Acad Emerg Med. 2013 Jul;20(7):724-9. doi: 10.1111/acem.12157. Epub 2013 Jun 19.


The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) has outlined its "Next Accreditation System" (NAS) that will focus on resident and residency outcome measurements. Emergency medicine (EM) is one of seven specialties that will implement the NAS beginning July 2013. All other specialties will follow in July 2014. A key component of the NAS is the development of assessable milestones, which are explicit accomplishments or behaviors that occur during the process of residency education. Milestones describe competencies more specifically and identify specialty-specific knowledge, skills, attitudes, and behaviors (KSABs) that can be used as outcome measures within the general competencies. The ACGME and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) convened an EM milestone working group to develop the EM milestones. This article describes the development, use within the NAS, and challenges of the EM milestones.

Publication types

  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Accreditation / standards*
  • Clinical Competence / standards*
  • Education, Medical, Graduate / standards
  • Emergency Medicine / education*
  • Female
  • Humans
  • Internship and Residency / standards
  • Male
  • Quality of Health Care*
  • United States