Possible eradication of wild poliovirus type 3--worldwide, 2012

MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2014 Nov 14;63(45):1031-3.


In 1988, the World Health Assembly resolved to eradicate polio worldwide. Since then, four of the six World Health Organization (WHO) regions have been certified as polio-free: the Americas in 1994, the Western Pacific Region in 2000, the European Region in 2002, and the South-East Asia Region in 2014. Currently, nearly 80% of the world's population lives in areas certified as polio-free. Certification may be considered when ≥3 years have passed since the last isolation of wild poliovirus (WPV) in the presence of sensitive, certification-standard surveillance. Although regional eradication has been validated in the European Region and the Western Pacific Region, outbreaks resulting from WPV type 1 (WPV1) imported from known endemic areas were detected and controlled in these regions in 2010 and 2011, respectively. The last reported case associated with WPV type 2 (WPV2) was in India in 1999, marking global interruption of WPV2 transmission. The completion of polio eradication was declared a programmatic emergency for public health in 2012, and the international spread of WPV1 was declared a public health emergency of international concern in May 2014. The efforts needed to interrupt all indigenous WPV1 transmission are now being focused on the remaining endemic countries: Nigeria, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. WPV type 3 (WPV3) has not been detected in circulation since November 11, 2012. This report summarizes the evidence of possible global interruption of transmission of WPV3, based on surveillance for acute flaccid paralysis (AFP) and environmental surveillance.

MeSH terms

  • Disease Eradication*
  • Global Health / statistics & numerical data*
  • Humans
  • Infant
  • Poliomyelitis / epidemiology
  • Poliomyelitis / prevention & control*
  • Poliovirus / classification
  • Poliovirus / isolation & purification
  • Population Surveillance*