The journey of DNA repair

Trends Cancer. 2015 Dec 1;1(4):215-216. doi: 10.1016/j.trecan.2015.11.001.


21 years ago, the DNA Repair Enzyme was declared "Molecule of the Year". Today, we are celebrating another "year of repair", with the 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry being awarded to Aziz Sancar, Tomas Lindahl and Paul Modrich for their collective work on the different DNA repair pathways.