A comparison of the clinical variations of the iridocorneal endothelial syndrome

Arch Ophthalmol. 1989 Oct;107(10):1465-8. doi: 10.1001/archopht.1989.01070020539035.


Iridocorneal endothelial syndrome is generally considered to have three major variations: Chandler's syndrome, progressive (essential) iris atrophy, and the Cogan-Reese syndrome. To better understand the clinical significance of this classification, we studied the medical records of 37 consecutive patients from our practice, comparing the presentation and course of the three subgroups. Chandler's syndrome was the most common clinical variant within this spectrum of disease (21 cases). Patients with Chandler's syndrome had more severe corneal edema than the rest of the group, while those with progressive iris atrophy (8 cases) or the Cogan-Reese syndrome (8 cases) had worse secondary glaucoma.

MeSH terms

  • Adult
  • Corneal Diseases / classification
  • Corneal Diseases / complications
  • Corneal Diseases / pathology*
  • Corneal Diseases / therapy
  • Corneal Edema / complications
  • Corneal Transplantation
  • Diagnosis, Differential
  • Endothelium, Corneal / pathology*
  • Female
  • Follow-Up Studies
  • Glaucoma / complications
  • Humans
  • Intraocular Pressure
  • Iris Diseases / classification
  • Iris Diseases / complications
  • Iris Diseases / pathology*
  • Iris Diseases / therapy
  • Male
  • Middle Aged
  • Syndrome
  • Visual Acuity