Mouse teratocarcinoma cells resistant to aphidicolin and arabinofuranosyl cytosine: isolation and initial characterization

J Cell Physiol. 1983 Apr;115(1):9-14. doi: 10.1002/jcp.1041150103.


With the long-range goals of elucidating the biochemical genetics and the phenotypic expression, both in vitro and in vivo, of mutator strains of mammalian cells, we have isolated and partially characterized a series of drug-resistant mutants from a subline a feeder-dependent parental mouse teratocarcinoma line (PSA-1) known to be capable of chimerizing host blastocysts via the injection of inner cell mass. Two series of stable mutants were isolated--one (Aphr) selected on the basis of resistance to aphidicolin (Aph), a specific inhibitor of DNA polymerase-alpha, and the other (AraCr) selected by resistance to arabinofuranosyl cytosine, an analogue of cytosine. Irrespective of the method of selection, most of the 32 mutants isolated were resistant to both agents, although to different degrees, and with variations in growth characteristics, deoxynucleoside sensitivities, and sensitivities to mutagens (5-bromodeoxyuridine, N-methyl-N'-nitro-N-nitrosoguanidine and ultraviolet light). A protocol of multi-step selection provided stable mutants highly resistant to aphidicolin and only mildly resistant to AraC, even in the absence of prior mutagenesis, and is thus recommended as an approach to the isolation of candidate mutator strains of multipotent teratocarcinomas.

Publication types

  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.

MeSH terms

  • Animals
  • Aphidicolin
  • Cell Line
  • Cell Separation
  • Cytarabine / pharmacology*
  • Diterpenes / pharmacology*
  • Dose-Response Relationship, Drug
  • Drug Resistance
  • Methylnitronitrosoguanidine / pharmacology
  • Mice
  • Teratoma / pathology*


  • Diterpenes
  • Cytarabine
  • Methylnitronitrosoguanidine
  • Aphidicolin