Allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis: staging as an aid to management

Ann Intern Med. 1982 Mar;96(3):286-91. doi: 10.7326/0003-4819-96-3-286.


Five stages of allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis were identified in 40 patients studied for several years. The stages are acute, remission, exacerbation, corticosteroid-dependent asthma, and fibrotic. The acute stage has all criteria of the disease and responds to prednisone. The remission stage is free from significant asthma or exacerbations. The exacerbation stage has recurrent flares of acute allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis. The corticosteroid-dependent asthma stage may have recurrent exacerbations of allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis and severe asthma. The fibrotic stage is an advanced stage of radiographic abnormalities with asthma, irreversible and partially reversible obstructive pulmonary function changes, and poor prognosis. Measurement of IgE and IgG antibodies against Aspergillus fumigatus is of diagnostic value in all stages.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.

MeSH terms

  • Acute Disease
  • Adolescent
  • Adrenal Cortex Hormones / therapeutic use
  • Adult
  • Aged
  • Aspergillosis, Allergic Bronchopulmonary / complications
  • Aspergillosis, Allergic Bronchopulmonary / diagnosis*
  • Aspergillosis, Allergic Bronchopulmonary / therapy
  • Asthma / drug therapy
  • Asthma / etiology
  • Child
  • Female
  • Humans
  • Immunoglobulin E / analysis
  • Immunoglobulin G / analysis
  • Lung / pathology
  • Male
  • Middle Aged
  • Prednisone / therapeutic use
  • Pulmonary Fibrosis / etiology
  • Recurrence
  • Time Factors


  • Adrenal Cortex Hormones
  • Immunoglobulin G
  • Immunoglobulin E
  • Prednisone