MRI assessment of myelination: an age standardization

Pediatr Radiol. 1994;24(2):122-7. doi: 10.1007/BF02020169.


777 cerebral MRI examinations of children aged 3 days to 14 years were staged for myelination to establish an age standardization. Staging was performed using a system proposed in a previous paper, separately ranking 10 different regions of the brain. Interpretation of the results led to the identification of four clinical diagnoses that are frequently associated with delays in myelination: West syndrome, cerebral palsy, developmental retardation, and congenital anomalies. In addition, it was found that assessment of myelination in children with head injuries was not practical as alterations in MRI signal can simulate earlier stages of myelination. Age limits were therefore calculated from the case material after excluding all children with these conditions. When simplifications of the definition of the stages are applied, these age limits for the various stages of myelination of each of the 10 regions of the brain make the staging system applicable for routine assessment of myelination.

MeSH terms

  • Adolescent
  • Age Factors
  • Brain Diseases / diagnosis*
  • Brain Diseases / etiology
  • Brain Diseases / physiopathology
  • Child
  • Child, Preschool
  • Humans
  • Infant
  • Infant, Newborn
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging*
  • Myelin Sheath / pathology*
  • Myelin Sheath / physiology
  • Retrospective Studies