Transgenic Arabidopsis Tester Lines With Dominant Marker Genes

Mol Gen Genet. 1996 Jun 12;251(3):365-72. doi: 10.1007/BF02172528.


The map positions of a set of eight T-DNA insertions in the Arabidopsis genome have been determined by using closely linked visible markers. The insertions are dispersed over four of the five chromosomes. Each T-DNA insert contains one or more of the chimeric marker genes neomycin phosphotransferase (neo), hygromycin phosphotransferase (hpt), phosphinothricin acetyltransferase (bar), beta-glucuronidase (gusA) and indole-3-acetamide hydrolase (iaaH). The neo, hpt and bar marker genes are dominant in a selective germination assay or when used as DNA markers in a polymerase chain reaction. These dominant markers will allow recombinants to be discerned in a germinating F2 population, one generation earlier than with a conventional recessive marker. The transgenic marker lines will speed up and simplify the isolation of recombinants in small genetic intervals, a rate-limiting step in positional cloning strategies. The transgenic lines containing the hpt marker will also be of interest for the isolation of deletion mutants at the T-DNA integration sites.

Publication types

  • Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't

MeSH terms

  • Acetyltransferases / genetics
  • Amidohydrolases / genetics
  • Arabidopsis / enzymology
  • Arabidopsis / genetics*
  • Base Sequence
  • Chromosome Mapping
  • Cloning, Molecular / methods*
  • DNA Transposable Elements / genetics*
  • Genes, Dominant
  • Genes, Plant / genetics*
  • Genetic Markers / genetics
  • Glucuronidase / genetics
  • Kanamycin Kinase
  • Molecular Sequence Data
  • Phosphotransferases (Alcohol Group Acceptor) / genetics
  • Plants, Genetically Modified / enzymology
  • Plants, Genetically Modified / genetics*
  • Polymerase Chain Reaction / methods
  • Recombination, Genetic


  • DNA Transposable Elements
  • Genetic Markers
  • Acetyltransferases
  • phosphinothricin N-acetyltransferase
  • Phosphotransferases (Alcohol Group Acceptor)
  • hygromycin-B kinase
  • Kanamycin Kinase
  • Glucuronidase
  • Amidohydrolases
  • indole-3-acetamide hydrolase