The complete phosphotransferase system in Escherichia coli

J Mol Microbiol Biotechnol. 2001 Jul;3(3):329-46.


We here tabulate and describe all currently recognized proteins of the phosphoenolpyruvate:sugar phosphotransferase system (PTS) and their homologues encoded within the genomes of sequenced E. coli strains. There are five recognized Enzyme I homologues and six recognized HPr homologues. A nitrogen-metabolic PTS phosphoryl transfer chain encoded within the rpoN and ptsP operons and a tri-domain regulatory PTS protein encoded within the dha (dihydroxyacetone catabolic) operon, probably serve regulatory roles exclusively. In addition to several additional putative regulatory proteins, there are 21 (and possibly 22) recognized Enzyme II complexes. Of the 21 Enzyme II complexes, 7 belong to the fructose (Fru) family, 7 belong to the glucose (Glc) family, and 7 belong to the other PTS permease families. All of these proteins are briefly described, and phylogenetic data for the major families are presented.

Publication types

  • Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.
  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Escherichia coli / enzymology*
  • Escherichia coli / genetics
  • Fructose / metabolism
  • Genome, Bacterial
  • Glucose / metabolism
  • Mannose / metabolism
  • Operon
  • Phosphoenolpyruvate Sugar Phosphotransferase System / genetics*
  • Phosphoenolpyruvate Sugar Phosphotransferase System / metabolism*
  • Phylogeny


  • Fructose
  • Phosphoenolpyruvate Sugar Phosphotransferase System
  • Glucose
  • Mannose