Should coeliac sufferers be allowed their oats?

Eur J Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2008 Jun;20(6):492-3. doi: 10.1097/MEG.0b013e3282f465b0.


(Table is included in full-text article). The suitability of oats as part of a gluten-free diet is controversial. Contamination of many oats products with wheat, rye and particularly barley, together with inadequacy of available gluten-testing systems may account, at least in part, for the confusion. Some clear evidence has, however, emerged in the past few years that a small number of gluten-sensitive patients display a specific small intestinal T cell response to oat peptides that cannot be explained by contamination with other cereals. Oats could form a potentially useful part of a gluten-free diet, but patients require careful advice and monitoring, backed by robust gluten-assay techniques.

Publication types

  • Comment
  • Review

MeSH terms

  • Avena* / adverse effects
  • Celiac Disease / diet therapy*
  • Diet, Gluten-Free / methods*
  • Food Contamination / analysis
  • Glutens / analysis
  • Humans


  • Glutens